Success and Bouncing Back

“Success is how high you bounce when you hit bottom.”
— Gen. George Patton

 

How do you measure success? Success should be measured in many ways and often. This is an extremely broad statement, so for today lets look at Patton’s words and life lessons.

I have been writing life lessons for awhile, it is a very simple concept but sometimes a bit difficult to implement. While it is inevitable things are going to happen in our life that is not good, it is up to us to take something positive from the situation and learn from it. Taking this one step further how do we use these lessons to better ourselves and the people we have in our lives. A key element is to not be bitter and understand what purpose this may have in your life.

I have to laugh as I have so many lessons that I have learned it is hard to pick a specific one. Let’s talk about addiction as it not to popular a subject. Fifteen years ago I found myself wrapped in a world of darkness and pain using meth- amphetamine as self medication to rid myself of the reality that surrounded me. Through the love of family and an intervention resulting in my moving 2000 miles across country with 3 small children I began my new journey. It has been more than nine years and I am truly grateful for my past as it has allowed me the opportunity to help many people to understand bad things happen to good people. I have had the privilege to be in DC as an advocate a number of times, to publicly speak on many occasions to address groups of physicians on faith in healing, to teach residents what text books don’t tell you, to talk in high schools, and most importantly to raise my children in a loving, compassionate and drug and alcohol free home. This are just a few in the many wonderful things that has happened to me since I began my recovery journey.

This is how you bounce back to be successful, never be ashamed of who you are be proud of how you have bounced back when you have hit bottom. My challenge to you today is to reflect on the times in your life when you hit bottom and how you have bounced back, or how it has made you a better person. Celebrate who you are and the success you have achieved from hitting the bottom!

I invite you to leave examples by comments, to share what you have learned in your life and how it has effected you and the lives around you.

~ by coachsusie on September 18, 2007.

3 Responses to “Success and Bouncing Back”

  1. I agree. You can treat all events like glass balls or rubber balls. Glass balls shatter when they hit the ground; however, rubber ones bounce back. If you choose to learn from mistakes, then they become lessons. Kudos on the new blog!

  2. MOM…

    WOW…thats cool its mom upside down..ok,seriously…I am so proud of you for all that you’ve done for our family. It is only exemplified by your determination to do what you’ve dreamt of doing! It was just an idea about a year ago, and now you’re really doing it and you are so amazing. I am so luck to have such an awesome mom, you have bounced back from the worst and almost fatal times to be a positive presence on so many people. I am so grateful that God has put you in my life in so many ways other than being my mother. You truly are my closeset friend and most of all my hero! I look up to you so much and I love you. I hope that some day I can become half the woman you are right now!!! God bless!

  3. I never said this to you , You are ok , You have done a great job with your life @ your kids.Just keep it up @ live by your words.Nice page, God bless.

Leave a Reply

 
