Possitive Thinking The 5 to 1 rule

“A positive attitude may not solve all your problems,
but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.”

— Herm Albright

Do positive people occasionally annoy you? Do you ever wish you were one of those people? When asking my seventeen year old daughter if the eternal happy bubbly positive people bother her she answered only when I am in a pessimistic mood.  This in my opinion is a wonderful answer as she has grown from being a pessimistic person to a more positive and happier young adult. I have to admit I have experimented and tried a few of my theories with my children particularly my daughter with her negative thinking.

I knew it was working when one evening she was having a discussion with a friend at the kitchen table and was repeating an exercise I gave her on positive thinking. After I picked myself off the floor I congratulated her on her progress. She was pleased with the changes made as a result of what I call it the five to one rule.

The five to one rule consists of training your mind for every five negative thoughts come up with one positive. Now that doesn’t mean you have to count them each time. It does mean you are becoming aware of your thinking patterns. This makes you concentrate on finding positive things and you hopefully begin the way to more positive thoughts. You will begin to think “I have had more than five, start to find something good.” I know for a fact this works as I have used it in groups as well.

For today I challenge you to become one of those eternally happy people. Make a conscious decision just for today to smile at everyone. People will wonder what got into you but it is also contagious. Recognize the reaction of those around you. If you are the positive person celebrate this and pass this site along to someone who can benefit from it or just lead by example and explain the five to one rule.

~ by coachsusie on September 25, 2007.

8 Responses to “Possitive Thinking The 5 to 1 rule”

  1. thats a really good idea, and i’m really excited because I too have seen a change in our family. I am again, so proud of you mom, and its for reasons like this that we are able to dream big and have a postive attitude in all that we do, thank you!

  2. Thanks for allowing me to experiment on you guys! You never cease to amaze me! Your an awesome young woman who I am extremly proud of!!!

  3. […] Possitive Thinking The 5 to 1 rule• September 25, 2007 […]

  4. The five to one rule sounds like a good theory indeed

  5. […] Positive Thinking The 5 to 1 rule• September 25, 2007 […]

  6. I would like more info on 5 to 1 rule, more so on application.so that I can help others like me. Am from Kenya

  7. Its nice to have ideas like dis, more of it…luky 4rm nigeria

  8. i needed that. thanks and enjoy the day

Leave a Reply

 
