Be Your Own Best Friend

“Friendship with oneself is all-important because without it one cannot be friends with anyone else in the world.”
– Eleanor Roosevelt

Let’s take a look at you today. Do you like who you are? Are you your own best friend? Do you give yourself the same respect you give your friends and co-workers? Probably not, as a rule we are much harder on ourselves than people we don’t even like!

One way of working on this is to realize it in the first place. For today pay attention to how you treat co-workers and friends. Make it a point to give some extra compliments and note this. For every compliment you give someone else I want to compliment yourself. This may seem a bit odd at first but as the day progresses so will your attitude, self esteem and your friends will love it. This actually works as I just practiced this on my teenage daughter and I think she will laugh the whole way to school today!

We have a tendency to be very hard on ourselves and our flaws, but we love our friends in spite of theirs. Have you ever told anyone “I love her dearly but she or he drives me nuts”? I have to tell you at times I drive myself nuts! I have learned to love myself in spite of my flaws and character defects.

I would like to challenge you today to really look at yourself and start to understand all the wonderful traits you have and why people like you. You will be amazed how good you will feel and in turn how much better you will treat your friends and family.

Celebrate you and your friends today! Be a best friend to yourself and those you care about. Send an email to a friend you have not talked to in awhile call someone you love and tell them you were thinking about them. You just might be the bright spot in someone’s day that just needed a friend. Most importantly for today, be your own best friend!

 

~ by coachsusie on October 4, 2007.

One Response to “Be Your Own Best Friend”

  1. Enjoyed your site, and the name of your blog. I will be back. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
