Patience is a Life Lesson

I asked God to grant me patience. God said “No”.
Patience is a by-product of tribulations; it isn’t granted,
it is earned.

I ask God to help me LOVE others, as much as he loves me.
God said…Ahhhh………. finally you have the idea!

–Claudia Menden Weisz

Let’s take a moment and talk about patience.

The quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like. Dictionary.com

We have all been impatient at many times throughout our lives. How many times have you asked for patience? I have learned to never ask for patience as when I do it seems I learn by way of personal experience. Usually it’s directly related to the definition above. In other words it seems the way to learn patience is by experiencing impatience or tribulations.

I have a good example of patience with the holidays just 3 short months away. I know I made your day didn’t I. 🙂 Do you remember the long lines at the check out counter and the very unhappy customers and the frazzled check out clerks? My brother taught me a wonderful lesson how to make this a special time. When confronted with this he will begin to sing carols in the line. Before long the entire atmosphere in the store changes and everyone is happy! What a small and wonderful way to effect change. I suggest taking someone with you that can sing a little when you go shopping this year.

I invite you to share your stories and lessons of patience as we all can learn from others.

There is no secret formula but I have learned patience by becoming aware, and making a conscious decision to teach by example. This follows through in my personal and professional life. Another key to gaining patience is learning life lessons. Have you ever said, “I know there is something I am supposed to be learning in all this?”

For today I encourage you to tell those you care about how you feel. There is great power in a smile and encouraging hug a helping hand.

We all have those silent angels who are always on the sidelines ready to jump in and help. I have many but one in particular that has always been there for me. She has helped me when I could not help myself, who is proud of the woman I have become, and I am truly grateful for her in my life. For today please think about who has been there for you. Grab the phone, give them a call and tell them you appreciate who they are.

I would like you to consider being an angel to someone else. What would it take for you to reach out and be a mentor, friend, angel to another? There is a wonderful inner peace knowing that …Ahhhh………. finally you have the idea!

~ by coachsusie on October 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Patience is a Life Lesson”

  1. Two wonderful people in my life taught me the rewards of patience, my grandfather and an employee I hired. The common demoninator in both of their messages was to have fun and laugh as you moved along the journey. Certainly keeps the anger out of the equation. My grandfather always had time for me and no matter what I wanted to do or try, he was there to help me. Never impatient with my many mistakes, my grandfather saw things through to its conclusion with me, always encouraging me along the way. He showed me “the way” and taught me to appreciate the value of helping others at an early age and that the rewards would be worth a little extra time. To mention that he was the best friend I ever had in my life (until my son was born) would be an understatment.
    As for the employee I hired, Ray became my professional life mentor. I miss him greatly. Ray was responsible at one time in his career for all the public television stations in the Midwest. He had 25 or more station managers chewing him up day after day. Unfortunately, the pressure of this job almost killed him. Fortunately for me, I was able to hire Ray at a time in my life when I had forgotten about my grandfather’s lessons. Success had come too quickly and easily for me after college and I thought I had answers to everything and it could be done now. Raymond taught me to have patience with my employees and the plans for the company. His guidance became a professional road map I put to use in every aspect of my life. The greatest gift both of these men gave me was to never take life too seriously, have fun, laugh, and most of all be patient for the rewards will come back many times over.

  2. I heard David Jeremiah say just this morning,”Don’t pray for patience unless you want tribulation”!
    Great article, I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

 
