Positive Mental Attitude (PMA)

“A positive Mental attitude (PMA) is the single most important principle of the science of success!”  Napoleon Hill

I don’t think I can never say enough about positive mental attitude. Are you starting your week with a positive attitude? If you adopt a positive attitude toward life you are more likely to create positive outcomes. The same applies to the negative. If you have the tendency to be more negative I encourage you to try the five to one rule found on September 25 on this site.

 The advantages of having a good attitude are endless. I don’t think anyone can argue this but how do we continue to do this on a daily basis. I think as an individual you need to decide what makes you happy. When you get in the morning up how do you feel? Do you have the news on and hear all the negative things that are going on in our world? Maybe try listening to a favorite CD or radio station. Take just a few minutes and read something positive to start your day. Walk out the door with a smile on your face and don’t ever lose your sense of humor.   We tend to think of humor as part of our genetic make-up, like blue eyes or big feet. But a sense of humor is actually a learned quality.

We know it takes a month to form a habit so for the next month how about working on developing a positive attitude and a sense of humor to go along with it. I know this is two things but I feel they go quite well together. If this is too much at one time, start with the attitude and the rest should follow. Be willing to laugh at yourself as we can be our own best friend or worst enemy.  

What I find amazing is, everyday we have the choice how we will treat the day ahead. If we mess up we have another chance the next day. If you have a bad day its ok we all have them. I usually laugh about it at the end and tell myself “whew glad that is out of the way” Under no circumstance should you carry this into tomorrow. For today, be happy find the good in others have a good PMA and remember a sense of humor is necessary! 

I believe this to be one of my all time favorite quotes 

I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our attitudes.
       – Charles Swindoll
      

~ by coachsusie on October 8, 2007.

One Response to “Positive Mental Attitude (PMA)”

  1. I’ve been an advocate of Positive Mental Attitude for as long as I can remember- maybe since I read Think and Grow Rich.
    Now, I must say, Im all about the philosophy of Illuminating the Negative – in a positive light- because nowhere does the PMA say that we should ignore or suppress the negative. I think that if we ignore negatives – keep them in the dark- that they will grow and multiply like mushrooms.
    Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

 
