Get up and Take Action…….

“It is easy to sit up and take notice.
What is difficult is getting up and taking action.”
— Al Batt

 

I love this subject as many feel they can’t make a difference. I used to be one of those people, but now I feel like I am pretty proactive. You may not be able to change the world but you just might be able to change a little piece of it.

I think our nature or instinct tells us to take notice and voice our opinion, but rarely do we take action.

My theory is this, how about taking action on one or more of the things we are passionate about. For example on the political level I have been to Washington DC a number of times in advocacy for the rights of people with addictions. I did not think I made a difference but was granted an audience with one of our state senators and after our discussion felt I made a difference by changing his perception of recovering people that day.How many times have you made a phone call to a Politician to voice your opinion? It is quite simple to do and they receive far less phone calls than you think.

Have you written a letter to the editor, sent an email to a teacher with compliments for a change? Have you ever been to a school board meeting? There is a real threat in the district where I live because of tax cuts extracurricular activities have the real possibility of being eliminated . It seems every parent is thinking of this as a threat and when I say something no one believes it, and actually get a bit angry I brought it up at all. I hope this is not going to happen because I Don’t think want to be around if these changes do occur.

On a personal level what have you done to move forward and take action on? Take a class, start a journal, learn to ballroom dance? I highly recommend for today pick one thing to take action on and move forward within the next week. Make sure it is attainable and tell someone about it as this will make you accountable for it.

You can also apply this to all your goals concerning action steps. Maybe the action step is to begin writing goals down.

If you are not writing goals at this time I strongly recommend this as we have been told and I am not quite sure this is a correct figure as there are many studies out there, only approximately three percent actually write out their goals. Out of these three percent, ninety percent accomplish them. To me this is just amazing as to why more people don’t fill out goal sheets. I think it is in part, no one ever made them do it.

If you have children they are wonderful subjects to practice on. My eight year old was thrilled last week as she accomplished her goal and more. The teenagers put up more of a fight but they complete goal sheets when asked.

For today, sit up and take notice, move forward and take action!

~ by coachsusie on October 11, 2007.

4 Responses to “Get up and Take Action…….”

  1. Thanks for this insightful post. I read it with much interest.
    You are quite right to say that writing down your goals is important. Where do you get the figure of 3 percent writing out their goals? It sounds like the infamous Yale or Harvard study. This study was a myth and it discredits coaching and we coaches each time it is quoted, which is a great shame because the message of goal setting is important – too important to become the victim of an urban myth.

  2. Thanks for your comment, I too have questioned this figure and after having researched it decided to use it as a positive tool to assist my clients. This is why I always preface this with approximately as I do not want to be the victim of a one survey opinion.
    It has worked wonderful in a group setting with a weekly group. I have been testing this theory since January of this year and pretty much holds true, but in a very positive way. These participants are having wonderful success. I never even considered it discrediting coaches and our profession or negative in any way. The participants are very excited and are having excellent success.

  3. Does it make a difference if the figure is 3% or 100%??? What is important is the concept of goals and what steps are necessary to reach them and having someone helping others to realize their goals. Having used them with employees for 30 years and now with disadvantaged people goals give hope of improvement and changing the situation. If anything, a figure like 3% makes these people feel like they are doing something special and out of the ordinary. Goal setting has always made these people feel like they were doing something different. With someone dedicated with them to reach them, the excitement of a new job, a raise, or being able to live on their own, the reaching for the goal makes life a lot happier and positive experience!

  4. With further introspection, Mr. Woods might want to re-read the October 9th blog. I feel he might be more interested in fees gained by his profession and his image than the gains of his clients.

Leave a Reply

 
