Positive Possibilities

Stop thinking in terms of limitations and start thinking in terms of possibilities.
Terry Josephson

After having a discussion on career choices with my children I have decided that we as mentors, parents, friends do not encourage each other enough to follow what it is we are passionate about. Do you look at career choices by how much money it pays, or how passionate you are about the job? This applies in about every phase of our life, educational, personal or professional.

I hear over and over again, I am told I can’t do that, I should find something else to do. The only thing that makes it unrealistic is you, when you think in terms of limitations. To focus on possibilities you have to have goals and a plan. The real key is to write it down!

I suggest to do this is by realizing you have a dream or goal in the first place and if you don’t this a great place to start. Allow yourself to dream, find possibilities, get excited about life in general. It doesn’t matter where you are in life good things are possible but you have to believe this. Once you have a goal begin a plan and celebrate as this is the first step in realizing your dream. Begin by forming action steps which can be accomplished in a reasonable amount of time. Assess progress regularly and be willing to adjust your goals according to your progress.

I understand this is very broad, but in every phase of life this applies to you. I am asked how to not get overwhelmed by the overall picture. This sometimes gets difficult as life gets in the way. We need to understand how to handle stress and bumps in the road. I have a couple of theories one being have a sense of humor, it goes a long way. Realize stress is going to be in our lives one way or the other. It is how we choose to react to it. For example I have a meeting this evening that has the potential to be quite stressful. I have the choice to be upset, stressed, nervous, but I also have the choice to prepare and not let it effect my day. I often tell myself  “it is not life threatening”!

Things in our day can be overwhelming; again it is how we react to it. I suggest breaking it down to sections or even hours at a time. If you have a difficult morning focus on what you have to do just in the morning hours then the afternoon won’t seem so difficult.

I believe we have the power in all of us to accomplish great things if we focus on the possibilities, work on solving the problems and stop limiting ourselves. Stay positive and dare to dream and believe in yourself!

 

 

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on October 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
