Practice Compassion

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.

HH the Dalai Lama:

Compassion, a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering. From dictionary.com

Many times all I have to do is look around when I am feeling a bit sorry for myself. The examples of our own life’s lessons are what teach us compassion or remind us what compassion really is.

I was reminded of this many times yesterday alone. I was feeling a bit sorry for myself as I have not been feeling all that well. I had to attend a meeting and was on my way out when that little voice redirected me to visit a part of the building where there are workers that share some of the same clients as I, and we have developed friendships. I am grateful God has given me a very strong inner voice these days. I had the privilege to have a wonderful conversation with one of the most courageous woman I know, who is in the middle of her battle with cancer. She has the most uplifting attitude and continues to help others every day. She has a warm and friendly smile and I have never heard a negative thing come from her mouth. I realized that I did not feel that bad after all. I had another conversation that I feel gave a little hope when needed. We never know when we may have the opportunity to make a difference but we need to have the insight to be compassionate towards others. In this case the woman I was talking to needed to be reminded of what a special and amazing person she is. Her faith and trust is brought comfort  through her troubles she never doubts what the outcome will be. I know she will be fine but the compassion in me wants to take her pain away. In all areas of my day yesterday this was true in some aspect. The pain I see in my friends who are suffering as it seems to be a difficult time for many. The real pain of addiction, and families struggling to understand, to see hope and know God will bring them through. The sadness of relationships, to know friends can support and be there for comfort. The agony of my teenage son having lost his last football game and having to ride the cart back to the locker room as he re injured his ankle, but to know he played well.

This was just part of my day, I am sure if you look back on the day you most likely have your own examples. Reflect on them and be grateful and when you can reach out with a thoughtful word or a comforting hand on the shoulder or a hug, It may make all the difference in the world to the person in need.

In every case I wish I could have taken their suffering away, but I know this is life and we need to learn by our life lessons.

I Love the song my Mercyme, Bring the Rain.

This is the chorus:

Bring me joy, bring me peace
Bring the chance to be free
Bring me anything that brings You glory
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain
But if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus, bring the rain

 

 

~ by coachsusie on October 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
