On Parents and Children

Too often we give our children answers to remember rather than problems to solve.

Roger Lewin:

If you are a parent I would like for you to think about this statement today. I find myself thinking back through the years, I remember giving my children answers. Many times it was easier to give the answers rather than give them the problems to figure out on their own. Have you ever done things just because it was easier to do, instead of asking your children to do it? I know I am quite guilty of this.

Parenting is a learning process just as being a child is.

Parents sometimes have difficulties admitting we don’t have all the answers or we too can make mistakes.

I was once told you’re not really a parent if you only have one child as they can’t blame each other, fight, and so on. 🙂

If you are a parent and have more than one child do you do things differently from the first child to the last? I am sure we all learned how to do things a little different.

My oldest child was perfect in my eyes. She was beautiful, very smart, responsible, and fun. I was told many times in her very early years as in kindergarten and first grade, they had never seen such a responsible child at such an early age. Looking back I am not sure this was such a good thing. Now as a young adult will she ask for help when needed, or struggle on her own. She is still beautiful, smart, responsible and fun but now has to solve her own problems and as a parent I struggle with wanting to do this for her. I truly believe the most difficult part of parenting is watching your children suffer in any situation. Letting go is not to easy as well but I don’t think we ever fully let go nor should we.

I will never be able to explain the mothers love for a child, it is something only to be experienced. I am grateful to have amazing children, we learn from each other, we love each other and although the oldest is away from home she is our hearts always.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on October 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
