Compassion 101~~~ on Children

Becoming responsible adults is no longer a matter of whether children hang up there pajamas or put dirty towels in the hamper, but whether they care about themselves and others — and whether they see everyday chores as related to how we treat this planet. Eda LeShan

This is just the perfect excuse I needed to leave the house work behind and take the kids, go visit my daughter in college and sleep in her dorm room! That sounds like fun right? I really don’t need an excuse but it sounded good. I once wrote this ” I can justify anything and it sounds OK, try walking in my shoes with me for just one day”. I think writing in the dark days was a way to cope and help retain some sanity in my life. Now I reflect on those lessons and am grateful for they have allowed me tremendous growth and knowledge with helping others.

This brings me to the point for the day. While I feel it is very important to have chores and a fairly clean house. I feel it is extremely important to teach by example caring and love not only for you, but others. As a family we have been very involved in many volunteer activities, taking communion to nursing homes. Planning recovery picnics, church activities including mission trips, many activities for the Cancer society to name a few. I feel my children are very compassionate and caring individuals.

I do at times wish they would be a bit more helpful around the house and we could improve on our dietary needs and cooking but I have come to the conclusion we are who we are and that is awesome! Rarely do we not have someone at our home and their friends know our doors are always open if they need help. It seems one of my children always has a new project they are working on. This in itself makes me feel successful as they have learned well.

I encourage you to think of ways to show compassion today to friends and family which will carry over to other areas in your life.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on October 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
