More on Raising Children~~~ Susie Austin

If you bungle raising your children, I don’t think whatever else you do well matters very much. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis

 

 

 

This morning I planned on finding some wonderful words of wisdom stemming around children. After searching for a very long time for just the right words I have come to the conclusion this particular quote says it better than any rich text or flowing words of wisdom.

With all the responsibilities of life we have been given the single most important one is our children. How we as parents teach and raise them will determine the future of their lives, how our country survives, and even how humanity survives. These are not the easiest times for our world and the planet much will depend on future leaders which are the generation we are raising. Sounds pretty heavy doesn’t it?

In these days of text messaging, ipods, video games children many times children forget about imagination because they feel they need to be entertained. When my children would tell me they are board I respond by telling them they are boring. This was and is always a good opportunity to educate them on what it was like when I was a child and all the wonderful things we did revolving around using our imagination and spending many hours outside playing.

I believe as parents we need to be teaching our children and learning from our children. I found it difficult at first to admit I can be wrong as well, but it was a good lesson for my children to know parents can be wrong too. I feel it is important for parents to apologize when they are wrong as this will teach children they too need to apologize when necessary. So many lessons with children, there is never enough time or paper.

The single most things I am grateful for in teaching my children after God, is compassion and love. How to give back, how to volunteer, how to be passionate for something you believe in. Giving from the heart by using time and talent when the financial resources are not there. All these things combined with education and life experiences will ready them for their future.

I feel they have learned this well! I can not tell how amazing it feels when someone tells me what wonderful children I have.

Today my daughter who is away at college is home and I have all my family together and I feel whole, happy and content. I am no expert and have learned and am learning every day.

Life is a wonderful journey, remember to take time today to hug your children, tell them you love them and how proud you are of them no matter if they are five for fifty. 

Susie Austin

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on November 10, 2007.

2 Responses to “More on Raising Children~~~ Susie Austin”

  1. Very well written. Your words are so true and thoughtful. I truly enjoyed reading this. I hope to read more of your posts.

  2. Well said!

Leave a Reply

 
