Laughter is the Shortest Distance~~~Susie Austin

Laughter is the shortest distance

between two people. Victor Borge

 

 

Laughter is the shortest distance between two people as it connects us and helps keep things in perspective. It can lighten any situation can reduce stress and tension, and allows us to be human. I used to have a t-shirt that said Sense of humor necessary!

We talk at great lengths about goals, dreams, tasks, and all the things we need and wish to accomplish, but my suggestion for you today is schedule humor in your life. Do you always pass on the funny emails because you don’t have time to read them? Just about everyone has someone who is always sending some silly jokes. To be honest I usually deleted them because I just don’t have time to read them. How about spending ten minuets a day dedicated to humor? If you hear a funny joke write it down, if you’re anything like me you will forget it within a short period of time. Look for the humor in the day and make it a point to laugh often.

Be careful you do not laugh at someone or at others expense as this can be hurtful. I am sure we have experienced that at some point in our lives. Remember we are all imperfect and being able to laugh with others allows us to not take life so seriously at times.

Another point to keep in mind, don’t allow humor to mask issues or problems in your life. It is possible to use humor to discuss and open up in ways you might not have been able to without using humor.

Humor is one word with a lot of meaning, for today remember to laugh well and often for no other reason other than it makes you feel good!

Victor Borge was an accomplished pianist who incorporated humor as his trademark, he was known as the Clown prince of Denmark and the Great Dane. He also said this,Occasionally, a finger comes up to wipe a tear [of laughter] from the eye… and that’s my reward… the rest goes to the government.”

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 24, 2007.

2 Responses to “Laughter is the Shortest Distance~~~Susie Austin”

  1. Coach Susie! I like that. I already feel cared for. Glad to find your blog through my aimless surfing this morning, btw. Thank you for all your feel-good posts. I am now in the mood to smile and dance in front of my TV as I watch CNN. 🙂

    Anyhow, this particular entry of yours grabbed me as I recalled the “dreaded” email my brother sent me recently. “Dreaded” I say because in this email, the subject line begins with FWD: FWD: FWD: A Joke. Or something like that. Now I know you can relate when I say, anytime an email’s subject line is preceded by several FWD:s, it immediately becomes a prime candidate for the trashcan awards. No questions. But I gotta tell ya… I love my bro and so I had to restrain myself this time. And by golly, was I relieved by my unusual decision! This joke made my day and got me rolling off on the floor laughing all day… at work!

    Is it really funny or am I just too easy? Hopefully, you haven’t come across this one yet (you did delete most of them, after all, right?) as I’m hoping to return the favor by sharing a little laugh with you. So, here goes…

    Another Lawyer Joke

    A lawyer opened the door of his BMW, when suddenly a car came along and hit the door, ripping it off completely. When the police arrived at the scene, the lawyer was complaining bitterly about the damage to his precious BMW.

    “Officer, look what they’ve done to my Beeeeemerrr!!!”, he whined.

    “You lawyers are so materialistic, you make me sick!!!” retorted the officer. “You’re so worried about your stupid BMW, you didn’t even notice your left arm got ripped off!!!”

    “Huh? Oh my gaaawwwwd….”, replied the lawyer, finally noticing the bloody left shoulder where his arm once was.

    “what now?” asked the officer.

    “My Rolex!!!!!”

  2. Sorry to keep bugging you. But I just happened to reread a paragraph of yours about masking personal problems with humor. It reminded me of a friend I once had when I was living in CA years ago. We were fairly close. Well, there’s a reason why I said “fairly.” You see, this guy’s a professional comedian. I used to watch him perform at comedy clubs all around L.A. And the guy is really outrageously funny! But then whenever we would hang out, y’know, have a little pizza and movie and talk about life… it’s a pain trying to get anything out of him. So he’d go whistling and cracking jokes instead, just to break the tension. And boy, was he good at it. I mean, he’s so closed I couldn’t figure out (at the time, anyway) how he could be so funny and engaging with his comedy but at the same time seem so lonely when he’s on a one-on-one with somebody. No, I didn’t need to ask him that. It was blatantly obvious that he was depressing to himself and to whomever he has to have eye-to-eye contact with. Even when he got married, you’d think that he’d be a little better. I’m afraid he just dragged his wife into his unchanging little world. I really got that feeling. It’s so sad.

    So anyway, I just wanted to share this story because it is a fact. That humor can easily be used in less than sincere ways.

    Thanks, and keep up the inspirations. The world needs them.

Leave a Reply

 
