A Season Of Kindness~~~~~Susie Austin

 

“I expect to pass through this world but once;

 

any good thing therefore that I can do, or any

 

kindness that I can show to any fellow creature, let

 

me do it now; let me not defer or neglect it, for I

 

shall not pass this way again.”

Stephen Grellet

 

 

 

 

I have always liked this quote as it has given me a sense of calm through the years. I think kindness is a virtue more of us need to work on. With going into the holiday season full swing we are thrown into an almost different world for the next few weeks, And will run the emotional gamut as the impending holiday draws near.

My personal goal this year is to stay calm and practice kindness as much as humanly possible. This came as huge realization to me Friday when out and about. My oldest daughter and I decided to give blood, and we dropped of the younger two so they could shop. Yes it was black Friday but it was 4 in the afternoon not 4 in the morning so the crowd was not quite so thick.

I suggest if you’re planning on donating blood you make sure you don’t drink a lot of caffeine and get your iron levels up as mine was a bit to low to donate this day. If you have never given blood before I may suggest this is something very worthwhile as it does not cost anything and you have the opportunity to save lives.

We did a bit of shopping and while waiting in the line a gentleman was quite rude to me as he was questioning me on which line I was in. I responded with a sense of humor, “of course the one that is the shortest and at this point I am not sure.” He was not happy at all, so I told him to go to the line that happened to be the shortest. I had that feeling of being irritated and thought this happy and kind stuff during the holidays may be a bit more difficult than I thought.

The point to this all is this and the moral of the story? I did get irritated but was aware of it and could change my behavior to not be angry and even though I let him ahead in line, we still finished before him.:)

Two things to remember, God says “Be Good and Be Kind!!!”

Why do we seem to have such a hard time with that? It is simple yet we make it difficult at times. This next few weeks lets remember these simple words and try to live as much by them as we can. Make a conscious decision to be kind to everyone, especially family, children, siblings, as the stress of the holiday can become real only if we allow it.

Let the season begin, and bring it with loving kindness!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “A Season Of Kindness~~~~~Susie Austin”

  1. Hello

    Great word’s , great thinking

    i hope the best future for you .

    do the best

    gooooooooooo

  2. mohammadird@googlemail.com

Leave a Reply

 
