On Pets as Great Friends~~~Susie Austin

Animals are such agreeable friends – they ask no

questions, they pass no criticisms.” 

George Eloit

When was the last time your dog let you down or if you’re a cat person are they your friend?  Our animals have such warm places in our heart. They comfort us when we are sad, they play with us when we are happy, and they ask little from us in return.

My sister used therapy dogs when working in a hospital setting, my father’s dog helps keep him young, as he is a spry 82.  We have police dogs and horses, Seeing Eye dogs, and companion animals.

When my daughter was seven we had to move suddenly, times were a bit difficult and emotionally she was struggling. There was a horse in the backyard where we were staying and the only person that horse would let near her was my daughter Brittany. They had a special bond between them. As soon as she would walk into the back yard the horse would get very excited and run back and fourth the length of the fence. I know the horse was calling her as all you could hear was Brittaneeeeee…..Brittaneeeeeeee……at least it sounded like it. 

The point of the story being, we all have wonderful animal stories that make us smile and happy. For today I encourage you to think fondly of the pets you have had in your family over the years and remember them with a smile as they have brought countless hours of enjoyment and peace into your lives. 

Today is being dedicated to my pet fish Finn, he is a beautiful beta that has been keeping me company on my desk at my office for the last year. This may sound silly but he would bring a sort of peace to the place, swim over and check out clients and greet me every morning. He most likely will be no longer with us when I get to my office this morning as he has been pretty sick and I don’t know of many fish Doctors. J

It just proves a point that pets no matter what species, pets can be great friends and comfort us no matter where we are on this journey of life.     

~ by coachsusie on November 28, 2007.

One Response to “On Pets as Great Friends~~~Susie Austin”

  1. […] Check This Out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today. Here’s a quick excerpt: For today I encourage you to think fondly of the pets you have had in your family over the years and remember them with a smile as they have brought countless hours of enjoyment and peace into your lives. Today is being dedicated to my … […]

Leave a Reply

 
