More on Motivation~~~~ Susie Austin

  

Zig Ziglar

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well,

neither does bathing –

 that’s why we recommend it daily.

Much has been said on the subject of motivation, what it means, and how to personally become motivated to move forward in a project or life in general. What does that exactly mean?  While studying the word I found it quite interesting as there were many variations meanings and the subject was much broader than I expected. For our purposes today we will look at positive motivation and how that may apply to our lives right now. 

 Do you know what motivates you? For many it is money, I admit we all need money to survive but for some it is not the money that is the motivating factor, it may be success it may be pride in a job well done. Each person needs to find out what it is that motivates them best. I believe motivation starts by having a dream or a vision, many times in our life we forget how to dream or we just stop altogether.  This needs to be followed by goals, tasks and projects relating to the dream or vision. Develop a positive attitude and realize that success is not only what works but also what does not work.  

I feel one of the most important things to remember is with achievement comes the ability to bounce back from failures and disappointments. With anything worthwhile barriers and failure will exist, but I think these life lessons become a foundation to the stronger inner self that will result. Motivation also comes with the passion for ones work or the project. Failure is discouraging, it drains energy and resources, but it forces us to do things right. Failure separates those who think they want success from those who are determined to win. The strong learn to hang in there and keep bouncing back until they win. Strength can come from inner motivation and the attitude of not giving up.  

 For example I am quite involved with the Relay for Life which is an American Cancer Society fundraising project. I became involved with this project after my niece had leukemia and my beloved brother in law passed away from cancer. My dear friend who has suffered at length from this disease asked me to participate on her team for which I was honored. She is one of the most amazing and strong women I have ever met. Each year the momentum and motivation keeps growing as does the involvement of people around me. It is a wonderful cause and the passion around this is unexplainable.

 I find another way to motivate myself is to motivate others when I am excited and motivated I know it affects those around me just as when others are motivated by what I say and do it motivates me. For today consider motivating those around you and see if it changes how you feel and think. I believe you may find yourself much more motivated, in a better mood and having a wonderful and successful day.  

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on December 3, 2007.

One Response to “More on Motivation~~~~ Susie Austin”

  1. Motivation is oh so rewarding and it is a wonderful opportunity for you to pour out into another person, but it’s important to have someone to pour into you, whether it be your family, friends, relatives, teachers, etc. I love motivating others as well, and would lay down my life for someone if it would mean building them up!!! Thanks for always supporting me mom in all I did and do!

Leave a Reply

 
