Patience and Family Meetings ~~~~~Susie Austin

Thomas Jefferson

“Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain always cool and unruffled under all circumstances.”
   

  I have learned over the years to never ask for patience as when I do there seems to be a lesson I somehow need to learn on patience. Instead I try to remain calm and rational and look at the whole picture before I get upset. Does this work all the time? Absolutely not! I practice progress not perfection as this seems to be one of the most difficult practices for me anyway, patience!  I think it is part of human nature to want it now and not want to wait, to want it my way and not listen to reason.

Being a parent I have learned much from my children on the subject of patience as I have learned to listen and learned good reasoning skills. My children dread the words Family Meetings! We have them fairly often in our home. When things get a bit out of control I call a meeting. Everyone gets the opportunity to speak and everyone has to listen without interruption. The object is to be non confrontational and each participant talks on what they can do to improve on and what is bothering each person in the family. I serve as the mediator and use positive reinforcement and love as the base and the family members present their issues in an acceptable manner. This usually is quite successful and when finished draws the family closer and problems do not seem quite as serious as originally thought. The key here is to remain calm and no one is allowed to get upset. It takes some practice but the results are defiantly worth it. 

I suggest using this practice in any setting including work. If you’re working in a small office or in a team setting is perfect but can be adapted to most situations. The key is to have a good moderator who can jump in when needed. This will keep things calm, get out any problems and conflicts into the open where they can be worked on and hopefully solved. The difference in moral is well worth the time spent.  Patience is been said to be a virtue and I do agree with that but I also feel it is a learned behavior. This can be very difficult at times to control as I will be the first one to say I want it now and do not want to wait for it.  It just does not work that way, I used to joke around when someone asked me what nationality I was, I would answer I am German and Irish, I am stubborn and I have a bad temper.

 Today I encourage you to practice being patient and calm for the entire day and see how it feels. I invite you to share your results with me and if you have any great ideas please let me know. Many of us can use more tactics when our patience is wearing thin, and what does that exactly mean?  For today stay calm, breathe deeply and try not to get ruffled!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on December 4, 2007.

One Response to “Patience and Family Meetings ~~~~~Susie Austin”

  1. yes i agree… but it is also different with your MOTHER as the mediator, because it seems like you are just giving in instead of offering constructive criticism. And at times it’s hard because you’re not tough enough on the rules…but nevertheless the result always seems to be lighter. So we are very grateful for your support and love.

    I’m reminded of a verse Ecclesiastes 7:8

    The end of a matter is better than its beginning,
    and patience is better than pride.

    I LOVE YOU MOM…thanks for always being patient with us!

Leave a Reply

 
