From the Inside Out~~~~~~Susie Austin

Anne Morrow Lindbergh:

If one is estranged from oneself, then one is estranged from others too. If one is out of touch with oneself, then one cannot touch others

 Today I would like to encourage everyone to look from the inside out. What does your inner self look like? Have you done your head homework? I used to say “my head was a bad neighborhood I never go in there alone anymore.”  Although this is funny it does have some merit. I believe communication and talking about the things troubling you is one of the first steps in healing or dealing with the issues at hand.

I have the privilege of raising three daughters and one son. Three are teenagers and one still in single digits. In my personal opinion? I always thought the girls were easier. I was frustrated with my teenage son as he will never talk about feelings or anything upsetting him. After discussing this with therapists, clergy, my Life Coach, I have come to the conclusion this just may be the male species and I should not take it personally.

What I find is this, when I am ok they seem to be ok. What I do and how I react will reflect on them almost immediately. Part of my goals is to continue to work on my inner self daily.

 I chose to have a good relationship with God as I certainly can not handle it alone. It has been said that God won’t give you more than you can handle. I have been known to say. “OK God I am getting really close here you need to step in”J  Do you pray?  At times I find myself at an almost constant conversation with God. I don’t think God cares what prayers you say as long as he is in your heart. I have talked with many who don’t believe in God and the reason this makes me sad is I can’t tell them how it feels to have this inner peace, knowing I am never alone. I believe working from the inside out is much easier with God in your heart.  

I think this is a good time to look to your inner self. Do you like what you see and who you are? Are there a few things you would like to change? Maybe make a list of a few things you think you could work on in the next few weeks for your own self improvement. In this case it is all about you.

The more you love yourself the more it will reflect on the others in your life. Love yourself, work on yourself and the outside will follow.

Remember the shell on the outside is protecting the inner beauty of the person inside. Treat it with love and kindness.

~ by coachsusie on December 7, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
