Christmas List Suggestions~~~~~Susie Austin

Oren Arnold:

Christmas gift suggestions:

To your enemy, forgiveness.
To an opponent, tolerance.
To a friend, your heart.
To a customer, service.
To all, charity.
To every child, a good example.
To yourself, respect.

Christmas list this year. There is a great healing power in forgiveness. I am not suggesting to approach your enemy’s or put yourself in any danger. I am suggesting forgiving in your heart. There is a sense of peace that comes with this type of forgiveness and it allows you to let go of that which has most likely been trapped inside in some cases for a very long time. 

Is there a friend who may be alone or you have not spoken with for quite sometime? Be a friend and give your heart. If you can give, do so in any capacity.

If you are able to volunteer there is great satisfaction in knowing you have made a difference in another’s day. I was privileged to attend a function at a Senior Living complex last evening.

My daughter’s brownie troop joined in with all the Girl Scouts to sing carols to the residents and have cookies after. I have to commend the organizers as this was quite a job as I would guess there to be at least sixty very excited young ladies. It was a wonderful concert and the children enjoyed it. I asked my daughter what she liked best she told me the best part was at the end when they were serving the residents cookies and visiting because they have such good stories and it was fun to listen to them.

 I was visiting with a mom and she commented on my teenage daughter who was talking with the residents and had kindergarteners attached to her as she is a teachers aide this year. The mom was talking of what a special person my daughter is. This is the ultimate compliment to hear as a parent. I am quite privileged to have wonderful children.  

I know each day brings new dilemmas and with teenager’s drama, but enjoy all the time you have with them as they leave to soon.

My oldest has left the nest and is away at college, when she left so did a little piece of my heart. I miss her very much but understand I can’t keep them forever. She will always be my first born little girl.

 Life goes on and they grow up I suggest being the best possible example to your children and if you don’t have any children consider being a mentor. My son is growing up without a father and has had a mentor for years now and it has made a significant difference in his life. They go hunting and camping and the things guys do but more importantly he has been a positive male role model for him.

This season is a season of love and caring but there are many ways to carry this out throughout the year. Consider a different type of Christmas list this year one of service, respect and love for one another.

Susie Austin

coachsusie 

~ by coachsusie on December 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
