Christmas in a Jar? ~~~~~ Susie Austin

Harlan Miller:

 I wish we could put up some of the Christmas spirit in jars and open a jar of it every month.   

  I had the opportunity to go shopping last evening after work. It was an unplanned trip which for me is the norm as shopping is not my favorite activity. I had my Santa hat, bell necklace, earrings and was clothed in mainly red. I had made the grave mistake of not bringing extra shoes as my work shoes were not make for marathon shopping.

 I decided to observe as many people as possible during my own shopping adventure. I was mistaken for a sales clerk quite often and although I could not assist, I could wish them a Merry Christmas. I was called Santa’s helper by a three year old and I told him yes I was and I was very proud of him for being such a good boy.

I had a number of near collisions as my cart suddenly became an oversized load with a child’s bike lying on the top. I had to laugh as I did not navigate to well. I did stop to direct traffic as there was a cart traffic jam in isle 8. Many were on cell phones and I do confess I was one of them. I make it a point to all who were in listening distance to stop and take a look around and chuckle a bit. I said “look at us in a shopping cart traffic jam with cell phones in our ears.” I then directed the carts in the right direction, wished everyone a merry Christmas and continued my quest for the perfect gifts. 

Over all the experience went quite well with the exception of a price discrepancy at customer service from an overcharge from a few days ago. Of course I was right but the store said no. Was I going to let my night be ruined by a seven dollar error, I think not!

 Aside from my sore feet I feel quite content this morning as more than the shopping, people were overall very nice and generally in the Christmas Spirit. 

 Here are my suggestions, when you go shopping remember to dress for the occasion. Wear your favorite Santa hat, bells are great, and most importantly have fun. People loved seeing me, and I believe they were friendlier. The second thing I am considering is having 12 jars with labels on saying the month of the year and Christmas Spirit on them. This is a way to remind us to have the spirit the entire year. I think it would also make a very cute gift for the person who has everything. You could fill the jars with affirmations, confetti or anything imaginative.  

I think we can have the Christmas Spirit all year if we make a conscious effort to do so and a visual reminder may be all we need!

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good day! 

Susie Austin 

Coachsusie

~ by coachsusie on December 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
