Love Weighs More Than Gold~~~Susie Austin

Josephine Dodge Daskam Bacon:

Remember this December, that love weighs more than gold! 

 Who do you love and when was the last time you told them you love them? We have a practice in my home when anyone leaves they give hugs and kisses and never forget to say I love you. I truly feel it is extremely important to show affection in the home as this will carry through to adult life.

 I remember being a small child; actually I was the seventh out of eight children. We all would be seated around the breakfast table when my father would leave for work. He was a rural mail carrier and my mother was a stay at home mom which in those days was normal. When he would leave for the day my mother would give him a big kiss and hug. As a kid it seemed like one of those forever kisses, the ones we would say “EWW” to. They would then tell each other “I love you” before he left.

 This stayed with me all of my life and has carried into my own family. What a wonderful life lesson to pass on.  By their one example it has affected many lives for the better. I mentioned this to my mother a few years ago and she had not even realised the lesson she was teaching by her wonderful examples. I believe we are all teachers and by our examples we are able to change and form lives for the better.

 I encourage you today to think of examples in your own life in which you have learned or maybe been the example to others.  Remember it takes 28 days for form a habit, so how about considering a new family tradition for the coming year. Think of an idea of love which can be passed on within your family. Maybe adding an original prayer to your meal prayer and take turns creating them. You could start the tradition of goodbye hugs. Use your imagination and I would love to hear your ideas.  

Make it a day filled with love and the wonder this time of year offers.

Susie Austin

coachsusie      

~ by coachsusie on December 20, 2007.

One Response to “Love Weighs More Than Gold~~~Susie Austin”

  1. I like you! I really, really like you!!

Leave a Reply

 
