Christmas Opened Our Door~~~Susie Austin

And So This Is Christmas;
And What Have We Done?
Another Year Over;
A New One Just Begun;
And So Happy Christmas;

I Hope You Have Fun;
The Near And The Dear Ones;
The Old And The Young.

John Lennon, Happy Christmas (War is Over)

This is the day before Christmas; please take some time in your very busy day to reflect on all the wonderful things this season brings. Don’t sweat the small stuff or the big stuff for that matter. 

Speaking of big stuff, I will tell you a little story of what happened yesterday. We were off to church all of us loaded in the mini van ready to attend services in a new church with an old friend officiating. As I began to back out of my garage I heard a big thug and could not understand what it could have been as my daughter had already moved her car to the street. The kids yelled “mom you hit the garage door”! I got out and looked and learned someone had opened it part way and I could not tell by looking into my rear mirror. We managed to get it open enough to get the van out and were right on time for service. I had everyone calm down including myself as I was assessing the damage and what this is going to cost me. It was an accident and no one was hurt everyone is healthy; we have much to be thankful for.

  The sermon seemed to talk to us as it spoke of distractions and things getting in the way of attending worship. One of the examples was car problems and to that I began to chuckle. It really did not hit me how directly God was speaking to me until the Psalm was read verses 7-9 from the King James Bible

.   7Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in. 

  8Who is this King of glory? The LORD strong and mighty, the LORD mighty in battle.  

 9Lift up your heads, O ye gates; even lift them up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in.  

Do you think God was speaking to us? I certainly do,  and I grateful for this gentle reminder. I laughed as it could not been a more direct hint. We will get the garage door fixed as there was significant damage, but will also remember this day and this reminder for many years to come. 

  Please do no let distraction get into the way of the real reason for Christmas and if you do not attend worship services of any kind consider this year attending a worship service to honor the day.  

May the peace and joy of the Lord, be with you today and always. 

Susie Austin 

coachsusie

~ by coachsusie on December 24, 2007.

One Response to “Christmas Opened Our Door~~~Susie Austin”

  1. As you wlak in your garage from now, you will say to yourself, Lift up the gates! And, He will be praissed while you will make sure they are. One of the best things I will reflect on, with a most positive note, is meeting you. And, all that is YOU!
    Praise the Lord, for He is good, all the time.

Leave a Reply

 
