This Year Take Responsibility for Your Life

To Start A New Year. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Anonymous   

“A new year is unfolding—

like a blossom with petals curled tightly concealing the beauty within.    

 Lord, let this year be filled with the things that are truly good—with the comfort of warmth in our relationships, with the strength to help those who need our help and the humility and openness to accept help from others.

 

Heard the term pass the buck lately?  I used to jokingly say that I would gladly and humbly admit I was wrong, when there was absolutely no way that I could get out of it. There is a lot of truth in this, even though I say it with a sense of humor. I think that it is quite human to feel this way but it can get to an unhealthy level when we blame every thing and every circumstance on someone else.

 

 Taking personal responsibility is very difficult but quite necessary. This doesn’t mean you have the opportunity to beat yourself up and end up depressed feeling sorry for yourself does it? That would be odd for a motivational piece wouldn’t it? What this means is, stop blaming other people, things or whatever is making you in the place you are today. It means assess where you are, learn from your past and present and use that knowledge to grow and better yourself. Someone once told me that I was only allowed two weeks of self-pity a year and I had already used that it up.  I felt quite defensive at first but those words really sunk in and I realized that I wanted to be a different person. I became grateful for the hard times, yes I know that sounds crazy, but they helped mold me into the person that I am today.

 When you take personal responsibility for your life you will begin to like yourself again. Use those experiences to help yourself grow and become who it is you want to be. Consider using your experience to help others as well as this will also help you to grow as a person. When you take your life into your own hands you will become your own best friend. Treat yourself with the respect that you would treat a friend, do not beat your self up anymore.

 Learn to celebrate your success and when you look back at the past year and years before,  it will be quite easy to say I have learned well!  

Life lesson five

Susie Austin

coachsusie

~ by coachsusie on December 29, 2007.

One Response to “This Year Take Responsibility for Your Life”

  1. Ultimately, we must learn that nobody “makes” us do anything except ourselves.

Leave a Reply

 
