Passion and Talent ~~~~~Susie Austin

Sophia Loren

 Getting ahead in a difficult profession requires avid faith in yourself. That is why some people with mediocre talent, but with great inner drive, go much further than people with vastly superior talent. 

Have you ever heard anyone say about someone, what a waste of talent?  I am sure we all can think of many people who have incredible talent who do not use it. Many people I believe don’t even realize what wonderful talent they actually have because it has never been identified, or we simply take them for granted.

We were all born with certain gifts or talents and as children they were either encouraged or discouraged. If you were encouraged to sing or dance and received positive feedback you most likely would want to develop your abilities and talent. If you were laughed at or made fun of, you may never develop your talent.

Have you ever made a list of the abilities and talents? Maybe you should consider doing this. You most likely have more talent than you think you do. Using myself as an example I like to consider myself a motivator, I am a pretty good talker, I have a not to bad singing voice,  and I would like to think I have developed a talent for writing. I will also be the first to say I am not very good at athletics although I love to watch. I am not the best organized person but an open to improvement.. The key is to develop the gifts and talents you are good at. This does not mean you have to be phenomenal, but you need to have the passion and inner drive which will help you to succeed.

If you were like me you were told in school to improve your weaknesses. What would have happened if you had been told to identify and strengthen your talents?  You most likely would have developed outstanding personal skills, improved on your weaknesses and built your strengths.

The key to this is passion and not having fear to move forward in areas that might involve taking a risk. Trust yourself to be able handle what ever the future brings as you have done quite well up to this point in your life. Don’t be afraid of failure; be afraid of not trying and someday having regrets.

    

Susie Austin

coachsusie

~ by coachsusie on January 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
