Life Instructions~~~Mistakes~~~Susie Austin

There is a certain degree of satisfaction

in having the

courage to admit one’s errors.

It not only clears up the

air of guilt and defensiveness,

but often helps solve the

problem created by the error.


Dale Carnegie

Life Instruction ~~ mistakes 

When you realize you’ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it and admit you were wrong.   

I used to laughingly tell people that I would graciously admit when I was wrong, when I was backed in a corner with no way out and I would make a big deal of admitting I was wrong. It was meant as a joke but there was some truth in it as well. None of us like making mistakes and even more being called on them.    

My suggestion today is find the satisfaction in having the courage to admit when you’re wrong. It helps you grow and I believe there is something to be said for the human side of things. No one is perfect and knowing we can admit our mistakes is something to be admired. Once you have admitted to a few mistakes does it get easier? I don’t think so because again as humans we don’t like to make mistakes.

I like what Dale Carnegie says about having the courage to admit ones errors clears up guilt and defensiveness. I can remember many times feeling defensive when approached about a problem or situation. When I admitted the error, the defensiveness is gone and I believe this is also a time to grow ethically. We become a little bit better person with each mistake we learn something and grow.   

With today’s topic being life’s instructions on mistakes and admitting when you’re wrong, I would like to apologize for all the typos’ and mistakes I may have made over the past months and the ones I undoubtedly will make in the future. Whew; I feel so much better knowing I don’t have to feel the guilt of my spelling and typo errors as they will be forgiven. J  

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on February 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
