Life Instructions~~Live Honorable~~~Susie Austin

Dalai Lama

Live a good, honorable life.

Then when you get older

And think back,

you’ll be able to

enjoy it a second time.

Today I suggest having a conversation with someone who is in the golden years of their life and ask them a few questions about their life.

What was important, what did they do that made a significant difference, and what are they most proud of?

  

I think the answers will not surprise any of us. It won’t be the house they built, or the car they drove. I believe it will be how they make a difference in the lives of others, the families they raised and the fun adventures along the way.

  

Do you recall the last time you had an adventure? Was it a fun planned one, maybe a job change, maybe stuck in the snow? Ok I was just kidding, being stuck in the snow is not fun but looking back on the experience will probably make you laugh at some point. I have done some pretty silly things trying to dig myself out. If you are fortunate enough to be living in a warm climate take my word for it, I am sure you have the same stories with a little different twist. I do remember being stuck in a few monsoons when I lived in AZ I have witnessed many cars stalled and some even swept away. The roads become raging rivers and many of us think our cars can turn into boats but find out quite quickly they are not!

  

Adventures come in many ways some planned and fun and some not so planned. The point here is to get involved and live you’re life as an adventure so when you are older you can look back and enjoy it all over again.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on February 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
