New Mothers~~~Susie Austin

The moment a child is born,

the mother is also born. 

She never existed before. 

The woman existed,

but the mother, never.

A mother is something

absolutely new. 

 ~Rajneesh     

Yesterday I went to a baby shower for my new great nephew Tyler who is a month old. I must say it has been awhile since I have played shower games. Can anyone tell me what a baby swan is called? J

  

I was flooded with memories of myself when I became a mother the first time. My niece Kelly reminded me of myself; it was like taking a walk back into time. Kelly and I were never the nurturing types, in fact we never really liked children and I did not plan on having any. Well the good Lord had other ideas and we both have been blessed. When I saw the look in Kelly’s eyes as she gazed at her son I knew the feeling and I am sure any mother knows the feeling very well. We were meant to be a mom!

I remember standing over my oldest daughter Nicole’s crib tears running down my face not believing this beautiful child is really mine. Now looking back almost twenty years later I realize she was just on loan. Away at college I miss her so, but realize she is in Gods hands and she knows that.

I was blessed with four children and we still laugh about it today as I was never going to have kids.

   

If you do not have kids or happen to be a guy my wish for you today is this. Spend some time thinking about the things your mother did for you as a child, the special things. Call her and thank her for them, you will make her day. If she is no longer with you fondly remember her and the examples she set for you.

   

To my own mother, who is recovering from surgery, thank you for all you have done. You are loved by so many and have set wonderful examples for all of us children. You have done well! God has blessed our family with allowing you to be our mother and we love you!

Susie Austin 

coachsusie

~ by coachsusie on March 2, 2008.

One Response to “New Mothers~~~Susie Austin”

  1. I can never thank my mother enough for everything that she has taught me. With out this family that God has blessed me with I would have never known meaning of the word love and for that i am eternally greatful. I love you mom, and you too aunt susie, thank you for being my second mother, im the luckiest most blessed girl in the world!!!

Leave a Reply

 
