Keeping Promises~~~Susie Austin

Promise only what you can deliver. 

  

 Then deliver more than you promise.

  

  ~Author Unknown

   

Keeping a promise or commitment is one of the most important character traits and values you have.

    

There is nothing more disappointing as a broken promise. As a parent I have been very careful to not make promises I cant or possibly may not be able to keep. I make them very carefully and not to often. This has helped me in my professional life as well. I would like to promise everyone things will be OK but again will not make  promises I can’t keep. Breaking a promise is the fastest way to lose credibility, the next time a promise is made they won’t believe it. People tend to build their hopes around promises.

 Occasionally the unexpected does happen and a promise or commitment is broken. I explain the situation to the person and ask to be exempt from the promise or if the commitment has been broken explain the situation. In these days of communication there should be no good reason to not contact the person before the commitment is broken.  

 

 

I believe if you keep the promises you make, you build trust; you become a good role model with excellent ethics. These are admirable traits in which to live your life by. 

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on March 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Keeping Promises~~~Susie Austin”

  1. In times past, a man could seal a deal with a handshake, because his word was his bond. Today, we need lawyers to do the same deals. Many people today make idle promices. This shows in the overloaded court cases. When you make a promice, it is something that should be honored to the point of self-sacrifice.

  2. I recently wrote a post about “keeping promises” as well. Promise was always akin to a sacred word in my family, and my parents always kept their promises. As a result, I’m more likely to trust and believe in other people. That’s wonderful that you do the same with your children!

Leave a Reply

 
