More About Hope~~ Susie Austin

“Most of the important things in the world have been

 accomplished by people who have kept on trying when

 there seemed to be no hope at all”

Dale Carnegie 

I have many stories of hope, I have heard many stories of hope, but the most difficult are the ones in which someone has given up hope.

I have a lovely story I would like to share today. I had been on top of the world as the person who I had been speaking with had an amazing faith story in which in the face of great difficulties God showed him how his faith had worked. He had gone from jail to being homeless wandering the streets in extreme cold conditions to having a home and a job offer all within a couple of days!

This is just a brief synopsis of an incredible story that led me to the next person who told me he was giving up hope  My heart sank as he told me his story of having no place to live. There was no room in any shelter, he was on waiting lists but they were long. He had no way of retrieving his things, he did not care about the furniture; his only concern was to have the pictures of his wife who had passed on. At 43 he had suffered much, with very difficult health issues keeping him form work, bad circumstances, and trusting the wrong people he was broken. I felt helpless as there was nothing more I could for him; I listened to him and asked him to please do not give up hope. I encouraged him to pray and I told him I would pray for him.

It was heavy on my heart all day as I felt there was nothing I could do to help him. Late in the day I received a phone call from this man, he was very excited as he spoke, he told me the shelter called and he had a bed! He thanked me for praying for him, but more importantly he had hope again!

When you don’t think there is anything you can do for someone please don’t forget the power of prayer! I ask everyone today to say a prayer for someone, if you know someone who is about to give up hope pray even harder. Share your stories of hope and be grateful for your life today. We have all have many turns in the road, the important thing to remember is to keep on trying and encouraging each other. Life is good.Susie Austin 

~ by coachsusie on March 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
