Start Your Day Right~~Susie Austin

“Be pleasant until ten o’clock in the morning and the rest of the day will take care of itself.”

 Elbert Hubbard

All the noise and chatter in our lives begins when we wake up. Life begins the moment we open our eyes in the morning. Our minds rush to the tasks of the day, our to do lists, and if your anything like me you hit the snooze button. I heard a cute quote that says if we were meant to pop out of bed we would sleep in toasters.

 I make my way to the coffee pot, and move toward the shower. While in the shower I arrange my mental checklist, go over meetings, appointments, and deadlines? Mentally we are working very hard to accomplish many things before any real work gets done. We become stressed from being stressed.

If your home is anything like mine the mornings it can get quite stressful. Rallying the troops to get them off to school or in some cases like teenage boys, getting them out of bed can be a chore.

 My eight year old daughter and I decided to conduct an experiment in the mornings and it seems to have worked quite well. We have a favorite Christian rock radio station we like to listen to. In the mornings it seems much calmer when we have music instead of the news. We forget often and when things begin to get stressed in the morning we look at each other, smile and turn on the music. It seems to ground us quite well and our mornings have become quite pleasant.

 Before we even get out of bed in the mornings, we should take a few moments to listen to the voice inside. Remember these words from Matthew 3:17

 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”

 In the morning think of these words and remember we are sons and daughters and we are loved. Think of this picture, someone cupping their hands around your face and looking intently into your eyes and with tenderness and a soft whisper only meant for you said “you are my chosen one, whom I love, in whom I am well pleased.” I can’t imagine starting off a better day can you?

I find great pleasure and motivation by writing every day. I sometimes wonder if I can find the words, however they seem to be given to me every day and I am grateful to have the opportunity to share them with you.

 Have a very blessed day.

 Susie Austin 

~ by coachsusie on March 19, 2008.

One Response to “Start Your Day Right~~Susie Austin”

  1. blessed is your daughter and husband to have u in your life and me too for reading this.thanks. optimistic thinking

Leave a Reply

 
