Release Your Pain~~~Susie Austin

“Given the choice between the experience of pain and nothing, I would choose pain”

 

William Faulkner

 

 

Feel the pain; I am sure you have heard this from time to time. Interesting quote as I am sure we all have felt pain many times in our life. I remember someone telling me once, what do you get when you play a country music song backwards? You get your dog back you get your wife back you get your pick up truck back. J I thought it was cute.

 

 

 

There are many people who write songs about pain, who write poetry about the sadness in their lives. This is actually an excellent way of healing. By writing, journaling and letting it out. I once wrote a verse that said “now I have known the silence of the night and the loneliness that comes with the dawn, all my dreams have faded from sight, the game is over and nobody won.”  I changed it a number of years later to reflect how I had come from the darkness, “ but now I sing a new song,”

 

 

It ended up very positive but at the origination was my way of getting through difficult times.

 

 

I have a wonderful exercise I would like to share with you. This can be done by yourself or with a group of friends. Make a flag of plain white cloth and decorate it with whatever you would like. On this flag you want to have all the things represented in your life you would like to let go of. You could write them with paint, markers, or decorations to symbolize the event or time in you life. Attach the flag to a small dowel.

 

 

 

Pick a designated time, if you’re doing this project with friends pick a day and time for everyone to go into their yard and burn their flag. I recommend using sage as this makes plenty of smoke. Watch it burn and release the pain of all the things on your flag.

 

 

 

I did this a few years ago and it was a very powerful exercise. It felt wonderful as well. Make it a memorable experience and hopefully it will release your pain.

 

 

 

 

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on April 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
