April 15, Tax Day~~~Susie Austin

 

 

 

Nancie J. Carmody


I am thankful for the taxes I pay

because it means that I’m employed.

 

April 15th is the 105th day of the year except in cases such as this being a leap year.

The article explains that Congress passed the Sixteenth Amendment to the Constitution, which allows for the implementation of personal income tax, on February 3, 1913, and chose March 1 of the following year as the filing deadline. The deadline was changed to March 15 in 1918, and, as we learned at Tax History Project, to April 15 in 1955. Moving back the date from the end of the tax year served two purposes — it gave the IRS more time to handle the work and, more importantly, more time to hang on to your money before issuing you a refund. This is why April 15 is the “tax day.”

 

How many of us have not done our income tax? I believe there are many. I am very proud to say I have mine filed for quite some time. The thought of actually doing my own taxes however simple they may seem is far to overwhelming for me. This is why my most wonderful friend takes great care of me this time of year. We have been friends since 6th

grade and although we don’t see each other much the love is always there. No, not only at

tax time but all year through, she is not far from my thoughts. She is more like a sister to me than a friend.

How many times do we say, someday we will get together, lets have lunch, lets take a vacation together and never follow through? I think we are all guilty of that more than we want to admit.

How about today make a decision to take a little of that tax return money and do something special with someone special whom we always say “we should” to. What do you think?

Susie Austin

 

 

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on April 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
