Learn To Understand~~~Susie Austin

 

   To teach is to understand.

 

  To learn is wisdom.

 

 To learn together is

 

  understanding wisdom.

 

          Everything that irritates us  

 

  about others can lead us to an

 

 understanding of ourselves.

 

                               Carl Jung

 

 Have you been irritated with anyone lately? Have you thought of why you were irritated with others?  I believe we all need to be a little more understanding of others and their feelings. Not everyone shares the same viewpoints, has been brought up with the same values or ethics or even has been taught good manners.

What are some of your pet peeves and why? I personally have a few such as, using “quotations” while speaking, I cringe. How about bad grammar, I have to admit it drives me crazy to hear someone say I seen it instead of I saw it. I am sure this comes from years of my mother correcting my grammar and I am thankful she did! I have learned to be more understanding of others as I know they did not have the wonderful teacher I did.

 I try to teach others understanding as well but this is not as easy as it sounds. I have to laugh when I hear my daughters correcting their friend’s grammar however emotional issues are quite a different story. Remember someone’s anger and unhappiness most likely has nothing to do with you. It is necessary to try to be understanding of this person and try not to let them irritate you as you really do not know the struggles he or she is going through. Once you accomplish this you will develop a better understanding of yourself and you will be a much better person for it.

To learn is wisdom and understanding this helps us to become better teachers, listeners and ultimately better people.

Susie Austin

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on May 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
