Memorial Day~~~Susie Austin

 

“And I’m proud to be an American,

where at least I know I’m free.

 And I won’t forget the men who died,

 who gave that right to me.” 

      

~Lee Greenwood

      

Today is Memorial Day, a day to give honor, and remember those who fought and died to protect our country. I have the freedom to write what I choose, I have the freedom to live and work in a country where we are privlaged have many of these things which we must never take for granted.

   

I am honored to have a family who takes these freedoms seriously; my father who is a WWII Vet has an amazing story. There are not many of these men left as they are aging and leaving us.  I was proud and honored to come to my home town and share this day with him and other family members. As I watched him salute and listen to the National Anthem I wondered what it must have been like for him to be a young man fighting a war in a strange country.

 

 

 Today I would like to share a bit of his story with you, please click on this link and read this story and when you see a Vet thank them for their service to our country.

 

I am writing this while my 82 year old father is napping beside me. He is a proud and wonderful man whom I love dearly. I wish to thank him and all the men and women who have served in the armed forces to protect our country.

 

http://wvls.lib.wi.us/ClarkCounty/veterans/WWII/memories/MackSherrin.htm

 

The second link is song written to honor WWII vets. I believe you will enjoy this as well.

 You will need to follow the links to the youtube version, we have been having technical issues.

 

YouTube – Before You Go – Veterans Tribute and Thank You

Susie Austin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on May 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
