Happy Fathers Day~~June 15~~Susie Austin

The most important thing a father can do

for his children is to love their mother.

Theodore Hesburgh


To a father growing old nothing is dearer than a daughter.

Euripides

 

Two quotes to honor fathers today as it is Fathers day! My parents have been married for more than 60 years and I am quite proud of them, There were many challenges I am sure we as children were never aware of, however we know the unconditional love they have for each other yet this day.

I remember something my father said many years ago to my children’s father, it has never left me and I would like to pass it along to you today. “Hug your daughters have a lot physical contact with your daughters, tell your daughters you love them often, especially when they are teenagers. Because if you don’t they will look for it else ware.” I would like to add this; men love your wives and set good examples for your children to follow.

I am grateful for my dad as he has been a friend to everyone and has taught me compassion and how to care about others; he is a proud and good man. He has a wonderful sense of humor and still has the youthful twinkle in his eye. My mother still rolls her eyes and laughs as she shakes her head.

I like the second quote just for my own sake; I wish I had more time to visit. We all get caught up in our hurry up lives and never seem to have time.  I have started to call my dad on my way to work at least once a week, just chat for a little while and feel closer since I can’t see him as much as I would like to, this may be one thing you can do to as well.

In honor of my wonderful father, Happy Fathers Day!  I am proud to be your daughter and I love you dearly.

Susie

~ by coachsusie on June 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
