True Heros~~~Susie Austin

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor

Risin’ up, back on the street
Did my time, took my chances
Went the distance, now I’m back on my feet
Just a man and his will to survive

Risin’ up, straight to the top
Have the guts, got the glory
Went the distance, now I’m not gonna stop
Just a man and his will to survive

 

I had the opportunity to help plan a dinner to celebrate cancer survivors last evening and I am truly humbled today. Survivors range from small children to people in their golden years however the strength and courage is universal and knows no age. If you have someone close to you who is a survivor from cancer you understand what I am talking about. My wonderful friend was the speaker, talked of how grateful she is to be alive. We laugh then we cry and that is normal. She has had a multitude of difficulties and hardship revolving around breast cancer, lung cancer and heart problems however she is one of the most positive and amazing people I know.

If you feel you have a difficult life try hanging out at the children’s wing at the hospital. When my niece had cancer as a child I spend a significant amount of time at University Hospital in Madison WI. It was life changing to say the least. Courage, strength, determination and love are a few of the overwhelming feelings you will find there as well as friendship and a special bond family’s share.

Take some time today and think about friends and loved ones who have fought or are fighting this battle and be grateful they are a part of your life. Look to the undeniable courage they possess and use them for your heroes and role models.  Finally say a prayer for all the people who suffer with hopes a cure may someday be found.

Susie Austin

Check out the link for the Relay For Life Waukesha

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RelayForLifeMidwestDivision?pg=entry&fr_id=7966

If you would like to make a donation, here is the link to my page. The event is August 1, 2008 J

~ by coachsusie on July 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
