Slow Down And Enjoy The Journey~~~Susie Austin

“There is more to life

 than increasing its speed.”


— Mahatma Gandhi

 

Do you appreciate each day or do you allow a new day to come and go the same, unappreciated, unnoticed and forgotten?

We live in a fast paced hurry up and get there society and it does not seem to be slowing down anytime to soon.

A good example today would be impatient drivers, do you know any? They pass everyone and race to get to the light only to have slam on their breaks and wait at the stoplight to turn green? I love this, I usually wave to them as they speed by usually on a cell phone drinking coffee and maybe reading the paper. J I wave again as I catch up to them at the light as well.

Maybe this relates to life as well. We race to get where we are going not paying attention to anything along the way and before we know it. I remember juggling my schedule to race three kids to all their activities while taking care of a baby, working, volunteering, attending meetings and somehow it all got done. Now it all seems like a blur and I don’t remember much of it all. Now I have new commitments and responsibilities. I believe it never really stops however I have learned to balance my time better and have learned to say no occasionally to allow myself time to breathe.

Awareness is essential in choosing how to live your life. By becoming aware of how you are choosing to use the precious time in your life you can let go of the things that steal your time from you. Only through awareness can you find the power to make the conscious decision and this will give you the power to live your life the way you want it to be.

Slow down, enjoy the journey and be grateful we have this wonderful day unique and different from any other day!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on July 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
