Got Stress?~~~Susie Austin

 

 

Stress is an ignorant state. 

 

 

It believes that everything

 

 

is an emergency. 

 

 

 ~Natalie Goldberg, Wild Mind

 

How many times do you say I thought about doing that or it is on my list of things to do? I have a tendency to wait for the last minute which is not the best of plans. If I know I have a few extra days I may put off a project that I could be working on. This is not the best strategy however things gets finished and usually with a lower amount of stress then in the past. I have learned to remind myself things will get finished if I am stressed or if I am not stressed and telling myself this helps keep me focused. Here are more words of wisdom I use on a regular basis, “is it life threatening?”

 

We live in stressful times and in a hurry up world; however I have chosen to de-stress my life as much as possible. Am I always successful? Absolutely not, I have become aware of the stressors in my life and plan a bit more than I have in the past.

 

Today I would like to encourage you to examine your life and identify the things that add stress to your day. What can you do to relieve and possibly eliminate the things that cause you stress? Parents I don’t recommend eliminating your children. J I have found when began the more calm approach and everything was NOT life threatening, it passed on to the children. Remember with teenagers drama is unavoidable and keep in mind, “This too shall pass.” Avoid stress at work might consist of removing yourself from the gossip pool, organizing your desk, plan your day, and keep a smile on your face.

 

Everything is not an emergency, everything is not life threatening, and everything will happen anyway whether you are stressed or not so make a decision today to take a deep breath, slow down and have a calm and stress free day.

 

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on July 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
