Recovery Is A Journey~~~Susie Austin

 

God, grant me the serenity

 

  

 

to accept the things I cannot change;

 

the courage to change the things I can;

and the wisdom to know the difference

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today is a very special day in my life as I celebrate a birthday. I celebrate the rebirth of my life free from drugs. Today is my tenth year in recovery and I love life! Without going into detail, my story is the same as anyone elses story after everything was gone, the marriage, home, possessions, the soul; I was left a broken, very sick, shell of a woman who had lost everything including herself.  In a world full of darkness and violence that I had become a part of, I did not know who I had become. The scary part of the world of drugs, I never saw it coming. I thought I was in control. I thought I was the perfect mom. I thought my life was normal however deep inside sadness of what I had become consumed me.

 

Through the help of an intervention and a wonderful family who love me very much I entered a treatment program. I began to heal. I learned for the first time in my life that I was worthwhile human being, I learned to forgive myself and I learned to begin to mend and love myself. I learned that addiction is a disease and not a moral issue. I learned that God has been with me all the time and did he not desert me I deserted him.

 

We all have had dark times in our lives; I am very open about recovery as bad things happen to good people. People heal and live wonderful, happy and fulfilled lives. Had I not had difficult times I would have the passion and understanding it takes to help others.  

 

I am grateful today as my life is amazing; I have remarkable children who have taken this journey with me. I love being a coach, a mother, writer, and a mentor. I am grateful for all those in my life who have supported me over the years. To all my family and friends thank you for always being there for me and not giving up on me.  

 

Today I encourage you to maybe say a prayer for all those who are out there suffering.

 

God bless,

 

Susie Austin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by coachsusie on August 7, 2008.

One Response to “Recovery Is A Journey~~~Susie Austin”

  1. Congratulations, my dear friend!
    God is working through you. Your words of encouragement, inspiration and positivity help those of us who have our own demons to deal with.
    Thank you for being you!

Leave a Reply

 
