Babies and Teenagers Don’t Keep~~~Susie Austin

 

“A real decision is measured by the

fact that you’ve taken a new action.

If there’s no action, you haven’t

truly decided.”

 

Tony Robbins 

I think this is a great quote, as it seems that I think I have made more decisions than I really have! I might have been missing an action step someplace, how about you? J

 

If a real decision is measured by taking an action I may need to evaluate my actions or lack of.

 

Let’s take a look at tasks for example. My task list is growing by the day and I have not really taken action on a number of tasks on the list. Consequently does that mean I have not made the decision to start them? Not really, there on the list so I consider that action of sorts as they actually have been written down.  

 

A great example of this involves this coming weekend. I had to pass on a yearly camping event we have attended for nine years as my son has to play football. I had every intention of completing many tasks on my list of household chores until my daughter called and invited me to spend the day with her at her place of employment. It just happens to be a summer camp and I would be on the lake in a boat. In weighing the alternatives I strongly feel spending some quality time with my oldest daughter on the lake before she goes back to college far outweighs cleaning the carpets and closets.  

 

I remember having a picture on my walls for many years saying.

“Cleaning and scrubbing can wait for tomorrow,
For babies grow up, I’ve learned, to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust, go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep.”
(Ruth Hulburt Hamilton)

 

I have found grade school passes; high school passes, and teenagers grow up. I still have a lot of cobwebs on my walls and my laundry will never be finished however, I will make a decision and I will take action to spend as much time with my children as possible while I can. Treasure the moments, live for today and remember yesterdays with a smile on your face!

 

Susie Austin

 

 

~ by coachsusie on August 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
