September 16~~Compassion~~~Susie Austin

 

George Washington Carver:

How far you go in life depends on your

being tender with the young,

compassionate with the aged,

sympathetic with the striving

and tolerant of the weak and strong.

Because someday in life

you will have been all of these.

 

Definition for compassion

sympathy for the suffering of others, often including a desire to help

We hear this word many times but do we understand its meaning? More importantly are we compassionate towards the people in our lives. I had the opportunity to help someone this past week that I had been working with for close to a year. When the time came and she took the step it was not the most convenient time for me but I took her to where she needed to be. It was a very emotional, sad but at the same time a wonderful breakthrough and the beginnings of a new life for this person. On the way back to my office I had to fight back the tears as I felt fortunate for my life and the lives of my children. I called both my older daughters and left voice mails on their phones. How much I loved them and I was grateful that God had trusted them to my care. I couldn’t help but think of all the suffering children and adults who were not so lucky.

When I got back to my office I spoke with a co-worker and was a bit emotional which I feel is a good thing. I told her we need these experiences to remind us of the compassion we have to have to do our work effectively.

How many times have you said its not my problem? Can you remember a time when you did something to help someone and how wonderful it felt after you were done? Think how that person must have felt. We get great satisfaction in helping others, and this is compassion!

I am sure there is a time you can remember in your life when you can relate to this quote, reflect on it, and for today maybe go out of your way to something for someone else and know the inner peace you will feel. If you are a parent teach your children compassion, I feel this is one of the most important lessons you can pass on. Be a good role model to those around you weather it be children or adults. Have a smile on the inside as well as on the outside and you will feel the difference.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on September 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
