September 17 ~~~Happy Birthday Dad~~Susie Austin

Seasons Of Life

Yesterday is History,

tomorrow is a mystery, today

is a gift, use it wisely….

This is one of my favorites as it relates to everyone whatever stage or place you are in life.

Today is dedicated to my father as he is celebrating his eighty third birthday!

Take a little time and reflect on the past month, do you obsess about what negative things have been happening in your life? Do you constantly worry about what might happen tomorrow? How about just for today, try just for today! Decide what things you would like to accomplish today. Write them down and check them off as you complete them. At the end of the day celebrate the job well done and reflect on the successful day. Take time to smile, enjoy something you love and savor the moment. Look back and know that it is a day well lived.

It seems when I was young time went very slow, remembering as a small child the day never would end, as a youth school would last forever, as a younger adult pregnancy will last Indefinitely! Now I am amazed at how fast the time speeds by, my children are amazing young adults, I have ads for AARP (American Association of Retired Persons) and my parents are in the fall season of their lives.

I had a conversation with my mother when my father was ill and she reminded me of the words at the top with today being a gift, we need to enjoy the time we have left. It was not so easy at first but smiling I knew what she meant. We never know how much time we have left and everyone ages. My father never owned a company, held office, or made a lot of money. What he did was more important! He has raised eight children of his own, taken in countless of others along the years. He has always gone out of his way to help others with out complaining. He was a liberator under General Patton in World War Two. He has been married to my mother for 60 years and he is my hero. He has always stood up for me, even times when I was wrong and he probably shouldn’t have. He loved me when I couldn’t love myself. He has taught me love and compassion and forgiveness and for that I am grateful for everyday I have with him. I encourage everyone today to tell those you love in your life that you love them. Make a few phone calls leave a couple of voice mails and you will make someone’s day!

This says it all! I am proud of you Dad! Happy Birthday!!

HOW DO YOU MEASURE SUCCESS?
To laugh often and much;
To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children;
To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;
To appreciate beauty;
To find the best in others:
To leave the world a bit better whether by a healthy child,
a redeemed social condition, or a job well done;
To know that even one other life has breathed because you lived.
This is to have succeeded.”
— Ralph Waldo Emerson

~ by coachsusie on September 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “September 17 ~~~Happy Birthday Dad~~Susie Austin”

  1. this really hit home for me I just lost my dad august 30th a week shy of his 84th birthday it has been the hardest weeks of my life I have no regrets with him help take care of him and said everything I needed to say he got to tell me he loved me and the family was there when he died I miss him so but I could not bear it if I had had regrets I agree with you 100 0/0 who ever you love tell them and show them often today

  2. Thanks for sharing, My prayers are with you:)

Leave a Reply

 
