September 18~~~Use Your Talents~~~Susie Austin

Use what talents you possess;

the woods would be very silent

 if no birds sang except

those that sang best.

–Henry Van Dyke

 

 

Today I would like to ask you a question. Are you everything you wanted to be when you grew up? What I have found is no surprise to anyone including myself, and what is very interesting; most people are OK with where they are until they think about it. I find many people are in places and jobs in life that are just there, not bad, not good, but tend to get stuck there for many years because of the tunnel life effect. Everyone has heard of tunnel vision which in medical terms, tunnel vision is the loss of peripheral vision with retention of central vision, resulting in a constricted circular tunnel-like field of vision from Wikipedia. Consider the term tunnel life and what that means. Possibly stuck in a rut, not inspired, not doing something worthwhile, the list can go on. Maybe the only focus in your life is the tunnel in front of you. What would it take for you to break free from this?

I have an exercise for you to try, I call it self profiling. Works great in a group but is also very successful used alone. Write down three things that you wanted to be when you were a child. Most likely you are not doing it at this time. For example I had wanted to be a Rock Star, Actress/speaker and, Beauty Queen who’s platform was to help people. Now that you’re done laughing I will continue. I made a list of everything that could fit under each category and decided to find something in each one to pursue. There should be a list of a number of things in each category that is feasible for you to do at this stage of life. Under Rock Star, I started a rock band, (did not quite work out at the time but still could) sang in a church choir, started to write songs again, I occasionally sing at special occasions such as weddings or memorial services. I look for opportunities as it is a form of this dream. Actress/speaker, I have the opportunity to facilitate motivational workshops do a fair amount of public speaking, the list goes on and the third beauty queen, I got over the self esteem problems from earlier in life. I always dreamed about what it would be like to be beautiful. I know that I have inner beauty and I am happy with myself. With a smile can tell you, I have learned the raving beauties have their own issues as well. I now have the privilege to be able to help many people in countless areas in life. I feel honored to be able to make a difference.

Twelve years ago I was in a dead end sales job, very unhappy, with no vision of a future, yes I was living in a tunnel life.

Today I dream daily and take steps to move forward to be happy and fulfilled. I encourage you to take some time today and profile yourself and think how you might make a few changes to make your life more rewarding and fun. Life is all encompassing, meaning a balance of work and play. Learn how to dream again and maybe you won’t be an astronaut but you could volunteer at a planetarium. Write these things down and visit them often. Make a commitment to allow yourself to begin new dreams based on your passions.

Work, like as you don’t need the money –

 Love, like as you’ve never been hurt –

Dance, like as no one is watching

 Susie Austin

 

~ by coachsusie on September 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
