September 19~~~Life Lessons~~~Susie Austin

“Success is how high

 you bounce

when you hit bottom.”


– Gen. George Patton

 

How do you measure success? Success should be measured in many ways and often. This is an extremely broad statement, so for today let’s look at Patton’s words and life lessons.

I have been writing life lessons for awhile, it is a very simple concept but sometimes a bit difficult to implement. While it is inevitable things are going to happen in our life that are not good, it is up to us to take something positive from each situation and learn from it. Taking this one step further how do we use these lessons to better ourselves and the people we have in our lives. A key element is to not be bitter and understand what purpose this may have in your life.

I have to laugh as I have so many lessons that I have learned it is hard to pick a specific one. Let’s talk about addiction as it not to popular a subject. Fifteen years ago I found myself wrapped in a world of darkness and pain using meth- amphetamine as self medication to rid myself of the reality that surrounded me. Through the love of family and an intervention resulting in my moving 2000 miles across country with 3 small children I began my new journey. It has been more than 10 years and I am truly grateful for my past as it has allowed me the opportunity to help many people in understanding bad things happen to good people. I have had the privilege to be in Washington DC as an advocate a number of times, to publicly speak on many occasions to address groups of physicians on faith in healing, to teach residents what text books don’t tell you, to talk in high schools, and most importantly to raise my children in a loving, compassionate,  drug and alcohol free home. This is just a few in the many wonderful things that have happened to me since I began my recovery journey.

This is how to bounce back to be successful, never be ashamed of who you are, be proud of the fact you have bounced back when you hit bottom. My challenge to you today is to reflect on the times in your life when you hit bottom or come close, how you recovered, and how it has made you a better person. Celebrate who you are and the success you have achieved from learning hard life lessons!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on September 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
