September 26~~Dreams & and Goals~~Susie Austin

Seeing yourself as you want to be

 is the key to personal growth.

-Unknown

 

When you look at your self what do you see? Do you see the person that you want to be? Are you happy with the person that is in the mirror? Are you satisfied with who you are and where you are at this stage in your life? If the answer is yes, congratulations! I can say I know very few to no people who can say this. If the answer in no lets take a look at what it might take to start moving in the right direction.

One of the most important things any person can do to accomplish great things or anything for that matter is goals. After learning that only approximately a very small % of people actually write out goals and upwards of  90% accomplish those goals, I was pretty shocked. I wondered why more people don’t and realized it is just a way of life or a habit. I am very grateful that my good friend took me to a coffee shop one day and forced me to write out my goals, after my procrastinating for way to long. I have to laugh because after I did this the first time I was amazed at how I made changes to be more productive and somewhat organized. As a side note, I doubt that I will ever be totally organized but I claim to have made tremendous progress. I do celebrate this as a success!

Start with something very simple, maybe what you would like to accomplish in a day, a week, a month and a year. I encourage people who are just starting out to find or create a very simple goal sheet. Write one attainable goal on the top of the sheet, you can accomplish in one week then sign and date it. This makes you accountable for it, and more likely to achieve it.

I have used this practice in groups and found it very successful! Every week 90 to 100% of the participants accomplish the goal that was signed on the goal sheet. Remember not to make this to lofty of a goal as you don’t want to set yourself up for failure. It amazes me at well how this process works. Seeing results gives you motivation to visit them often and realize your dreams are within your reach. Start dreaming again and realize you can see yourself as whatever you want to be!

Susie Austin

 

~ by coachsusie on September 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
