A Lesson On Love~~Susie Austin

September 30

 

Love begins when the needs

of someone else

become more important

than your own.

 Lao Wei, from the book “Strawberry Wisdom”

 

 

Today I would like to share a lesson on love and being a mom.

 

For weeks I had been planning a trip to my hometown for a class reunion. It just happened to be the same night as my daughter’s homecoming at their high school. Plans were made, as a single parent I needed to make sure they were safe and accounted for. The day before I was to leave, my intuition told me there was something wrong. I did not know for sure what that meant but I listened to it. I thought maybe I shouldn’t drive, and then decided I may never know. To not make this a small novel and to spare you the drama of it all, my daughters date disappeared. He did not answer or return the phone calls. She was quite distressed and I knew exactly at that moment what I had to do as a mom and why I was not supposed to go the reunion.

 

The floral shop happened to have an extra corsage with the perfect colors for her dress. She was beautiful and stunning in her dress even though she was struggling inside. When I left the picture taking session at her friend’s house I left a card for her on the seat of her car. I am sure she would have survived without me just fine but I was grateful I was able to be there for her. As a parent we feel our children’s pain, we can’t take it away for them as we shouldn’t. These are hard lessons for children to learn as well. Hopefully what she learned is how a parent should react in these situations. As parents we need to constantly be teaching our children compassion and love.

 

The moral of the story is this, trust your instincts and believe in yourself. The second thing is, consider the needs of others before your own. Ten years from now she won’t remember the sadness of being stood up. What she will remember is how much her mom loved her, and what to do if this should ever happen to her child.

I hope that sharing this with you will help understand another life lesson on love.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on October 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
