Eye to Eye~ We Are All The Same~~Susie Austin

October 9

You can’t expect people

to look eye to eye with you

 if you are looking down on them.


– Anonymous

This is a very important life lesson as we have all been guilty of this at one time in our life. Have you ever had anyone look down on you, how did it make you feel? We did not choose the economic structure we were born in, but did we stay there? I have the opportunity to work with a variety of people in all stages of life. It is truly amazing what I have learned by observation and life experience. I am actually grateful for these as it has molded me into the person I am today. I even like myself, do you?

 

 

I probably have been in each level of economics at one time in my life as well. It is quite interesting how I was treated throughout these phases. From living in AZ and having a nice home in the desert and all the toys to losing it all and having to start over.

 

 

I remember having to have help with food assistance years ago when in a very difficult place in my life. Even the people in the grocery store looked down on me with disgust. It did not do much for my self esteem while trying to rebuild after devastating circumstances.

I recall one day I had to wear a heart monitor with wires visibly showing as it was attached to my waist. I went to the grocery store again and I was looked at with pity and understanding. It was a very powerful and teaching moment for me.

 

 

There are many people who have made a significant difference in my life and don’t even know it. These are heroes in the world, the people who treat others with dignity and respect regardless of what phase of life they are in. I work with many of them on a daily basis and highly respect the difficult work they do while receiving little to no recognition.

 

I have learned that I too can make a difference simply by caring and giving hope to others in need. I had made a vow to myself to not judge others by their circumstances. This can be very difficult, I have learned to not judge others by where they are, but to encourage and give them hope to move forward in what ever place in life they may be.

 

 

For today I would like you to notice those around you and give hope to someone that you feel may need it. Try not to put yourself above others as we are all the same. Embrace life and remember you are unique to yourself but not better than those around you. We are meant to compliment each other not compete with each other. You just might be the brightest spot in someone else’s day!

 

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on October 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Eye to Eye~ We Are All The Same~~Susie Austin”

  1. Great article.

  2. Hi Susie, How beautifully written, your blog made me cry. There are so many people in this world who are not appreciated for who they are. Recently, my world came crashing down on me when I lost my job and I still do not have another. I am one of those people who has worked to buy my own home as a single MOM and now may lose it to foreclosure. People have told me how they want me to live my life. I just want to find happiness within myself and find a career which lets me help others in need. There are people in this world that would do anyting to help others they just do not have the means. They have hearts of gold. What they have to offer is themselves and that should be enough to give to others. The world is cruel we just have to keep having positive thoughts and create a world where we can be happy about ourselves and the people we love in it.

Leave a Reply

 
