Life Lessons On Hope~~~Susie Austin

November 15

If you lose hope,

 somehow you lose the vitality that keeps life moving,

you lose that courage to be,

that quality that helps you go on in spite of it all.

And so today I still have a dream.

Martin Luther King Jr

Today I would like for you to think of a time when things seemed hopeless. I am sure everyone to some extent can do this although some more than others. How did you react and what did you do to come through your struggles. Notice I said through and not around because I feel you need to face life head on. Hope is a belief that even though there may be obstacles in the way, it is possible to have a positive outcome.

I remember a time many years ago when I had given up on myself and life seemed hopeless. I used to write poetry in those days, this is a sample of me then. I have known the silence of the stars and the loneliness that comes with the dawn. All my dreams had faded from sight, the game is over and nobody won. I was a sad broken shell of a woman. A few years ago I changed the last line to this. All my dreams had faded from sight the game is over and now I sing a new song! I sing of all my hero’s today all the people who have prayed for me all the angels who have paved the way, by God’s grace I now can see.

Today I am grateful for everyone in my life that helped me believe in myself and gave me hope. I have many dreams and goals to accomplish but just as important, I now have the opportunity to help restore hope in many lives. Knowing someone cares and encouraging people not to give up hope is one of the most important things I can do when helping, teaching, and training as it helps restore self confidence and a belief that things can and will get better.

Taking one step further I believe everyone needs to have hope regardless of where you are in life. It does not limit itself to only desperate times but all throughout our lives. Hope for the future, hope for our children, hope our world will someday live in peace. Hope we learn to take care of our planet so our children’s children will have a wonderful world to live in. Hope has many different faces I encourage you today to attempt to restore hope in one person’s life and maybe it is your own.

 

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
