Life Lessons On Kindness~~~Susie Austin

November 16

No kind action ever stops with itself. One kind action leads to another. Good example is followed. A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees. The greatest work that kindness does to others is that it makes them kind themselves Ameila Earhart

Today would be a wonderful time to time to think about the many kind things we do during the day, the week and the year. I don’t suggest you need to keep lists of this but I do encourage you to think of how you have made an impact on others. How does this impact your own life and make you feel? Do you feel you are a kind person?

Love is referred to as patient and kind. Buddha talks about loving kindness, while the Dalia Lama wrote Kindness is my Religion. So what actually is kindness? I believe helping someone without asking for anything or expecting anything in return would be a good explanation. I also believe being kind does not have to involve acts; people need to be nice to each other. A simple concept but often very difficult as our society has a tendency to judge others.

When my children were very young at kindergarten age, I told them if you see someone on the playground and no one will talk to them or play with them you go to them and be a friend. A couple of weeks ago at my sons high school conferences his teacher told me although he is a very popular guy he always makes it a point be a friend to the kids no one else talks to, he picks these kids for group activities and he is kind to everyone. These children will remember this and will send roots in many directions.

I doubt we ever know the full impact we have on other people’s lives, but for today can you think of someone who was kind to you, who had an impact on your life? I have so many I think it would be difficult to pick just one. There was a woman named Nancy who worked with me close to 10 years ago. I was deciding once again what type of career path I was going to take. I really did not believe in myself at the time. She took me under her wing and mentored me and believed in me. She was patient and kind and saw something in me that I had had forgotten I had. I am truly grateful for all the help and kindness she showed me. Do you have a Nancy in your life?

 

I have been extremely fortunate to have many people in my life who have shown me kindness and love from childhood throughout adulthood. The best life lesson on kindness is the examples. How many times a day are you kind to others, by words or deeds? Do you recognize when people are kind to you or do you take for granted?

For today I suggest make a conscious effort to be kind and also aware of when others are kind to you. In Ameila Earhart’s words “the greatest work that kindness does to others is that it makes them kind themselves.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
