Create An Attitude Of Gratitude~~Susie Austin

November 21

In a letter that Paul wrote to the Philippians he says,

“I know what it is to be in need and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any way and every situation. Whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want”

Philippians 4:12

 

I read this and thought it could have been written specifically for me today. Last evening I was having a conversation with a friend and said if I had to walk away from all my worldly possessions could I do that? Absolutely was my answer. Did I really mean it because we can all say things like this but could we actually do it? I can honestly say yes I do mean it because it has happened to me. Maybe this is why I do not fear it as many do or because things and stuff don’t really mean that much to me. I am not saying I don’t enjoy nice things as I am human but it doesn’t consume my life or make me greedy. I am sure I can go to my friend’s house to watch the packer game on his 42 inch plasma TV. )

 

The secret in my own interpretation is to have God in your heart, love your fellow man. Learn to forgive as this will help you heal from past hurts and grow into the person you would like to be. Be kind to all who are around you, this is the best example you could ever set.

Make sure you do not let the bad things overshadow the good things that happen to us as there always more than good.

Cultivate an attitude of gratitude an attitude of thanksgiving, never be ungrateful.

Never take things for granted as we do not know when things will change and life does this to us on a regular basis.

I heard this last week and the words have stayed with me, a gift is a gift no matter how long ago or how often it has been given.

My parents gave me the gift of life and continually throughout my life have shown me unconditional love. They loved me when I was broken and when I was successful. They have taught me kindness, compassion, how to love unselfishly. Today I honor them, as I am grateful everyday for the examples and life lessons they have consistently taught me through the years. I am humbled and honored to be their daughter.

 

In dedication to Sherrin and Leabel Mack whom I am eternally grateful to God for placing me in their hands, I think he made a wise choice.

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
