What is Your Passion

Keep away from people who try to

 

 belittle your ambitions.

Small people always do that,

 

but the really great make you

 

 feel that you, too, can become great.

 

–Mark Twain

 

How many times have you heard parents tell their children, well that is admirable, but you

should think of something a bit more practical. I think this is the first mistakes we as parents

can make. As a parent of teenage children I encourage them to follow their dreams whatever

they may be, but also have a backup plan. When job coaching adults, I attempt to have

participants realize they can have at least part of their dreams or a similar version.

Look to what it is you’re passionate about and move forward in the right direction. This is all

life encompassing not related to employment alone. I am amazed at how many people tell me

they have nothing that really excites them. I ask the question what are your passions, hobbies,

secret ideas? There is usually an answer, photography, then do it! Take a class, get a camera

and start clicking! Football player, then volunteer as a youth coach! Singer, join a community

choir! This list can be endless, but you have to start to realize dreams are within your reach

just grab on and enjoy the ride.

Ten years ago if anyone would have told me I would be writing a blog, Life Coaching, Speaking

publicly, loving my life and my job I would have laughed. I had and still have wonderful

mentors who make me believe in myself and so should you. Stay away from the negative

people in your life, hang with the winners or the people you want be like when you grow up,

Keep your sense of humor, trust you are where you’re supposed to be in this stage of your life

and be thankful every day for the gifts you have been given.

Today is the time to begin again! Start to dream again and find the gifts you have been given

and peruse your dreams however big or small. You can accomplish great things which will

make you happy and satisfied. Don’t forget to encourage those around you to follow their

passions as well. At the end of the day celebrate and tell yourself this is a job well done!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on September 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
